DIY Boarding Pass Wedding Invitations – Part Two: The Insides

16 May

Well it’s about time that I gave you the details about creating the inside. It’s easy peasy! Keep reading for instructions and some helpful tips. Please be sure to leave me a comment or question if you need clarification – I am happy to help.

Inside of invitation

  1. First you will need a computer with MS Word and a good printer (with LOTS of ink!). It is helpful to have Photoshop if you want to create the graphics yourself. TIP: To create the chrysanthemum flower, I scanned the paper from the pocket fold (Click here for my instructions to make pocket fold) and manipulated it in Photoshop to get the desired colors and effects.
  2. In MS Word, create a template with 2 copies of the invitation wording and 2 logos (these will go on the front of the pocket fold) at the very bottom of the page. You can download my MS Word template sample here.
  3. Print off the number of copies that you need. TIP: Adjust your printer’s settings to print as “best” and depending on your printer, you can also indicate that the paper is card stock.
  4. Cut Cut Cut… hours of fun really – like I said before, good company and a bottle of wine helps! Cut the paper into 8-1/4” x 4” using your utility knife and cutting mat. Use your metal ruler as your straight edge. When complete put this stack aside, we need to prep the pocket fold before we glue these in place.
  5. Get the following supplies: your pocket folds, 8-3/8” x 4-1/4” blue card stock (I think they were called envelope postcard inserts), spray glue and old newspapers.
  6. In a well ventilated room, place a layer of newspapers down to protect the floor. Then place the blue card stock on top.
  7. Spray an even layer of the spray glue over all of the blue card stock. Wait about 30 seconds.
  8. Pick up the blue card stock from the edges and place it directly onto the pocket fold and rub out any air pockets with your fingers.  Repeat steps 6-8 until you have completed all of your invites. TIP: Each time you lay down a set of the blue card stock to be sprayed, remember to put down new newspaper and get rid of the old. This will ensure that you don’t get glue on the “good side” of your card stock.
  9. Get your stack of paper with the invite wording and go through steps 6-8 again for this layer.

The inside of your pocket fold is done!!! Give yourself a pat on the back!!

For part three we will focus on the final touches and the template for the boarding pass.

17 Responses to “DIY Boarding Pass Wedding Invitations – Part Two: The Insides”

  1. malisa May 30, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    i love your graphic. are you willing to share it in red or aqua?

    • lifeofkle July 3, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      Hi Malisa, I will send you an email. Thanks!

  2. Missy August 4, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    These look AMAZING!!! I was wondering if you have done part 3? I can’t seem to find it. Thanks!

    • lifeofkle August 4, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      Thanks!!!
      Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I never posted part Three…lol – that’s what happens when you get too busy. Thanks for bringing it to my attention Missy. I will try to get it up this weekend! I will also add a way to search through my blog by category so it will be easier to find. I will send you an email once it is posted.

      Cheers! Kelly

      • Selina Coley August 4, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

        I was just thinking the absolutely same thing. Your instructions are awesome and I am looking to start this project this weekend!!! Please let me know also when you will have it up.

        Thanks!

      • lifeofkle August 4, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

        Thanks! Seeing as there seems to be demand I will try to whip something up tonight!
        I am glad you find my instructions helpful. If you stumble across any issues or have more questions, please feel free to email (kelly@kellyeyamie.com) or comment here and I am usually pretty quick at replying.

  3. Mallory Long September 7, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    I am having trouble finding step three for your DIY boarding pass wedding invites. Could you please email me your template and/or instructions please? These look great and i am excited to make these for my wedding. :)

    • lifeofkle October 5, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      Part three is finally posted!!! It has been along time coming and it is up! I still have the final touches for part 4 but part 3 should get you through! Thank you and CONGRATS!!!!!!

  4. Erica September 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Hello again Kelly,

    I was wondering if you would be willing to share your graphic with me in aqua or turquoise like malisa asked. They look amazing :)

  5. Elizabeth September 29, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    Hi Kelly – these invitations look great! I wonder if you would be willing to share step 3 with me? I’m planning a wedding in Greece (June, 2012) and think these would be perfect. Thanks, Elizabeth.

    • lifeofkle October 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Hey Elizabeth! Congrats! Greece – amazing!!!!
      I have posted the third part, please feel free to write or ask if you have any questions. I am available by email pretty much any time kelly@kellyeyamie.com.

  6. Erica October 3, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Hi Kelley,

    Did you ever post part three of this DIY invitation series?

    Thank you!

    • lifeofkle October 5, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

      Yeppers! Part three is up today! My apologies for the delay. Between Life, planning our wedding, volunteering, I never seem to have a moment to get these things out, even though all I want oto do is help other brides make their day perfect! Congrats!

  7. Isabelle November 7, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Hi! I would like to know how to change the color of the barcode. I would like to change it to pink. I see you have changed yours to aqua. Can you help me? Thank you! :)

    • Isabelle November 7, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

      Actually, I just realized that you didn’t change the color of your barcode but I remember seeing it somewhere. Anyway, maybe you know how…Merci! :)

    • lifeofkle June 18, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

      I think you would have to do it in a separate program (like Photoshop) and then insert it back into the template.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

